Earring Tales: Bleeding Hearts

So I wasn’t always writing during NaNo. And yes, okay, I’m told I’m bad at naming things….

valentinebhblog

I was looking for more gold-lustered green tea 11/0 beads to make another set of Criosol earrings; the beadstore that usually had them was out. So I ran a search and found a place called Fusionbeads that had that color and no few others I didn’t have, including these cranberry twisted bugles and the dragonfruit purple beads. Never being one to turn down new options for shinies, I ordered a small amount of a whole bunch of things they had that I hadn’t seen elsewhere. NaNo ate up most of my time for the past month, but at one point I did get to sit down with the new beads and poke at least one color combo. This is it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Tried out two things I don’t usually do on this set. The first is more visible – I used more of the dark colors in the top stripes as opposed to the lighter ones. The second is not visible; and supposed to be that way.

In brief, one of the beading books I recently got my hands on illustrated a thread-hiding technique, specifically so no edge threads show on the tapering top. I’m still not practiced enough to do it without referring to the book diagrams, but it does seem to work… so long as I add a few extra twists and pass-throughs the book does not mention, to give that pair of edge beads a bit more stability.

Thoughts and comments welcome; and if you’re looking for shinies, the “about me” page has a link.

(Shinies are fun! They let my brain rest from wrestling with words. And over time, they pay for book covers! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

20 thoughts on “Earring Tales: Bleeding Hearts

  1. Looks neat – it’s an interesting color pattern. Don’t think I’ve seen that particular arrangement of colors before . . .

    It does speak me to . . . not in the “I want one” way but more of a “mmm” thoughtful kind of way.

    That was not an insult by the way – I think these shinnies are very pretty but I just can’t see myself wearing them. But I’m sure there is someone out there who can. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And yes, okay, Iโ€™m told Iโ€™m bad at naming thingsโ€ฆ.

    Naming things can be tricky.

    Part of my brain isn’t entirely sure Bleeding Hearts is quite right . . . but since it isn’t giving any ideas, let alone better ones, I’ve told it to hush.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry, but with the name you gave, all I see is blood coming from flesh on the dangling strands… So good name? But I think I’ve been reading too much gore because that’s what I see.

    Very good for a subtle touch for an intimidation though, especially if whoever wears them pairs with a red dress and a knife…

    Like

  3. Weirdly enough, my first thought was Meloncheery, but that’s because the top reminds me of those striped melons and squashes, before descending into a watermelon/summer red. But I’m very tone blind, so I might not be seeing the colors right.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I’m not a jewelry maker, but I love good colors. Like the darkest shade, that’s kinda maroon colored? That one, I like.

    Garnet is better than ruby; Bronze, copper and brass outdo gold and silver. I would love to find a way to trap glowing embers in thread, the closest of matches are no match at all- unless, of course, they are the kind that’s literally on fire.

    Other colors I’m fond of, but sometimes have no actual, specific name for- That color cherry wood furniture is, when they use a dark stain; That one shade of green you see in forests when it’s raining, almost emerald but so much better…

    And you know, I didn’t realize just how much I could ramble about colors of all things…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That one shade of green you see in forests when itโ€™s raining, almost emerald but so much betterโ€ฆ

      I don’t know what that official name of that color, if it has one. I call it Forest Rain. Very on the nose but color names usually are. It’s one of my favorite shades of green.

      And sometimes color names aren’t specific enough. Like Ocean Blue. Which ocean or which part of it? Because the water in the Gulf looks very different from the Caribbean, for example.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I may just try beading for myself. Found a few neat books showing how to make such -interesting- things (including beaded scorpions, among other interesting sparkly creepy-crawlies ^.^) and it sort of inspired me into considering the thought. Especially after seeing all the beautiful plays-on-color you come up with.

    Do you have any recommendations on what kit an utter novice should go for? Or specific brands to avoid? I’m completely clueless ^^;

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually got started with this book.

      https://www.amazon.com/Sadie-Presents-Beading-Stones-Cabochons/dp/0963393804

      It covers a bunch of stuff on beading needles, some techniques, and what beads you’re looking for. I find 11/0 beads to be as tiny as I really want to work with; Toho, Delica, and Preciosa beads are pretty good. I do prefer Swarovski crystals to Preciosa for more sparkle.

      …I highly recommend AGAINST Ming Tree beads. They’re cheap; they’re also not 11/0 size no matter what they say on the box. Too big!

      For a few bead sites to try out, look at Fire Mountain Gems, Beadaholique, and Fusion Beads. For findings – stuff like earring earwires, bracelet clasps, etc – you can get some from Fire Mountain, but they’re often cheaper in bulk from Rio Grande. Rio Grande also has a bigger selection of findings than Fire Mountain.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you very much, I’ll keep all that in mind! If (tentative ‘when’) I finish something I’ll send you the link for photos.

        Are there ‘starter kits’ or anything similar or do I just set up my own ‘kit’ individually by picking ‘a li’l o’ this, a li’l o’ that’?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hmm. I suspect there are kits, but I never used them to get started. I think Beadaholique carries a few?

        A few things you’re definitely going to want:
        Beading needles for the size beads you pick. Stainless steel is good. And get the thickest needles you can for the size of beads – it’s much easier to work with a stronger, stiffer needle.
        Cloth or beading board so they don’t roll away while you’re working.
        Clear nail polish to stiffen knots.
        Beading thread – Nymo is good to start out with if you’re making light objects like earrings, for heavier like a bracelet look into Fireline.
        White candle, to wax beading thread.
        Beading book with patterns to start from.
        Beads of your desired size – for this I’d look at whatever book you grab. It’s much easier to learn the techniques with a set pattern, and then you can expand those to different kinds of beads.
        Scissors.
        Jewelry tools – you’re likely to want
        1) chain-nose pliers (for handling jumprings, and for crimping down the loop of the beading needle so it’ll fit through the bead the first time),
        2) flush-cutters to cut wire, headpins, etc., and
        3) round-nose pliers to make loops in wire.

        Fire Mountain has a bunch of free articles on tools and jewelry-making on their site, BTW.

        http://www.firemountaingems.com/resources/jewelry-making-articles

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

