Post-NaNo Update: Another Problem Area Slain

One problem area down; at least roughed. Four more to go.

…I’ll spare you the air-turning-blue level of swearing I feel like doing. This small bit was hard.

In part because – well. Mobs. Very scary phenomena. But given the circumstances the bad guys were setting up in the book, and had been setting up for years,┬áthere was going to be mob violence. The bad guys were counting on it.

Meaning I had to research that. And then try to write it, using just enough details to get the point across without, hopefully, glorifying the whole horror of it.

Because what people can do when they get into large angry groups and stop thinking is purely terrifying. Give me a vampire or werewolf, any day. Those you can fight.

The only way I got through this was to bribe my bunnies with Shiny Ficstuff. I swear.

Note, if you plan to bribe your own bunnies, follow through. Nothing will kill off the bunnies faster than “oh, you got this bit of work done? Then let’s do some more.”

Nope. If you bribe the bunnies – “Do X work, you get Y shiny anime ep” – then you darn well better give ’em what you promised. Because you have to believe in yourself to write. And part of that belief is, well, integrity. Even if the only one who knows what you promised is you.

Give your work integrity, and everything else will follow.

4 thoughts on “Post-NaNo Update: Another Problem Area Slain

  1. “Because you have to believe in yourself to write. And part of that belief is, well, integrity. Even if the only one who knows what you promised is you.

    Give your work integrity, and everything else will follow.”

    This was something I just needed to read tonight, especially considering what I’m likely going to have to do in the future to further my career. I may not write, but this advice definitely applies to working out or say designing pretty soon-to-be-knit stuffs. These little insights into what being a writer is like is helping to keep me sane while going through some slightly boring training. Thanks for writing what you love and or am intrigued by, and my sister loved the Hawaiian Sky earrings…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay!

      …I’m not sure if you have to be slightly obsessed to write, but it helps.

      And yes. I never skimp on the bead bits, either, because it doesn’t matter if no one else would know a thread frayed, I’d know. Knowing you’ve done everything to the best standards you can keep – that gives you the moral grit to keep going, even when things look impossible.

      Like

  2. My bunnies don’t need to be bribed a lot of the time; they frequently hold me at knife-point to get me to work on this or that story. Oftentimes they sneak up on me while I’m trying to sleep and bludgeon me with Inspiration. T.T Still, I highly value them and try to make my work the very best I can, even if that means taking a long time to get stuff up because I keep going back over it and discovering things that can be improved.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

