Post-NaNo Update: Slowly Hacking Description

Oddly enough, some of the most troublesome spots in the rough draft can be relatively short, text-wise.

I’m currently hacking at a bit of description from one of the minor characters’ POVs, near the final battle bits. It should be short, but it’s giving me a lot of trouble. Partly… eh, bug going around the area, concentration not what it should be. But partly because I want to be concise. Maybe I’m not that worried about exact words, those can be polished – but I’m trying to get in what details should be there, leave out what shouldn’t, and try to get the emotional tenor right.

Tricky, especially with a character whose head I haven’t spent that much time in.

Going to try hacking at it again, with various bribes for the bunnies.

Update: After some bunny-bribes and discussing an entirely different story with a fellow fic-writer, figured out part of the problem was the sequence in which some things were shown. My first idea had tension dropping in the middle. I have a revised idea that should more readily ratchet tension up, leading toward the Horrible Mess.

…Sometimes you get stuck because something is Not Right, and you just don’t know what. Yet.

4 thoughts on “Post-NaNo Update: Slowly Hacking Description

  1. Don’t know about anyone else, but I’d be really interested in seeing what your writing process looks like through the scenes themselves. Something like how what you had immediately post NaNo differed from a few drafts after that and how that would differ from a final product or whatever. We’ve been hearing a lot about it and now I’m curious what it actually looks like.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. *G* I save a different draft with every major round of revisions, so I can probably go through and give you all an interesting sample of rough, middle of edits, and near-done when I get closer to finished. Thanks for the thought!

      Like

Leave a Reply

