Post-NaNo Update: Slithering Along

…Why did it have to be snakes?

Ahem. There are several critters of a semi-reptilian persuasion in Seeds of Blood. Snakes among them. I’ve finally roughed a bit of description on one specific critter charging into the fray. Which was tricky, because it’s from a bit of lesser-known folklore, meaning there just aren’t that many English-language descriptions of it out there to draw off of and create a unique description in the book.

That said, I have seen this particular monster written into a fantasy story once before, a long time ago. Hopefully my take on it is a bit different.

Fight scene: Argh. I’m not sure exactly why; maybe it’s just every time I tackle it, there are way too many factions to keep track of. Maybe it’s being this close and not yet finished. Or maybe just accumulated exhaustion.

But I did get a little farther, and I’m going to aim for a little more tonight. Even if it takes a whole bunch of power metal AMVs to do it!

And yes, specifically power metal. Two reasons. First, reasonably easy to find songs relating to either fantasy or battle scenes, or both. Second – I happen to really like clear vocals when I’m listening to music. Inflict vibrato on me and I’m inclined to hunt something down with the Death of a Thousand Paper Cuts and a gallon jug of vinegar.

Onward!

6 thoughts on “Post-NaNo Update: Slithering Along

  1. I’m with Dr. Jones: Why did it have to be snakes? 😛 LOL, personal feelings aside, I have a little idea for a more well-known serpentine monster myself, so I wish you the best of luck on your description!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I second the “Why did it have to be snakes?”

    As mentioned before, I’m not phobic of snakes like I am spiders but I am cautious. I prefer to give snakes their space. Because they bite if you mess with or step on them (which I can’t blame them for – if something several times my body weight stepped on me, I’d bite them too). And even if they aren’t venomous, they still have teeth. Lots of teeth. Lots of very sharp teeth. None of which I have any desire to have sunk into my flesh.

    Use of monsters is always a tricky.

    Unfamiliar creature can be more interesting simply because the reader hasn’t read roughly a billion stories with them. But you have to do a lot of exposition and description because most of the readers’ reaction when said creature is first mentioned are like “The What?” – helps if one of the characters is also justifiably asking that question.

    Of course, sometimes they are unsure about these new critter. What was wrong with using a vampire like everybody else? a few might wonder.

    Familiar creatures let you skip or shorthand a lot of stuff because the audience is already familiar with it . . . of course, they also might find said story boring for that reason.
    “Another vampire? Yawn.”
    You can try something different with either the monster itself through that can be chancy (why do they sparkle?!) or something different with the story elements – a unique scenario, heroine, setting, etc – so it doesn’t matter that the monster is a bog standard Hollywood vampire . . . or it’s parody / satire and part of the joke is that said vampire follows the Hollywood mythology . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve always kinda wondered if the general dislike of snakes is a perfectly natural reaction to an animal that is pointy on one end and twisty in the middle, or if it is due to some kind of societal subconscious based in religious roots (or at least the religious roots of many English speaking countries). Or perhaps it is a false dislike, propagated through media due to the religious significance but not acted out in actual society (I myself know a grand total of one person actually terrified of snakes with most of my acquaintances falling somewhere between ‘healthy respect for sharp, venomous rope’ and ‘awe, isn’t that cute. Imma poke it with a stick’.) Oh, the deep questions of life. Or at least the ones I’m too lazy to Google.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I would go with ingrained primate response to a major predator. I recall reading an account of an anthropologist in, I think, Borneo, talking to tribes that had just recently gotten access to steel blades. Before that time they lost something like one out of three people to deaths by snake.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

