Earring Tales: Desert Sunrise

Thought I’d do another color gradient.

Sandstone Sunrise1

There’s a few specific things I find interesting about this. The first is that the color Delica calls medium coral (3rd stripe from the left on the left-hand earring) is actually different enough from light coral (5th stripe) that I could put silk medium peach in between – and possibly one or two other color shades as well. Hmm. This is just me, but I don’t think I’d trust the Delica color-makers to paint my house….

The second is that I was originally going to border the earrings with a more metallic color – gold, copper, or mica, for example. But none of them seemed to fit. Silver-lined light blue, though, was metallic in effect, nicely balanced the pinks and oranges, and went fine with the opaque shell. Didn’t expect that. 🙂

Third… well, for this set, I think I just like the effect of different finishes along with different hues on the beads. It gives more of a “sky gradation of color” to me.

Desert Sunrise earrings.

8 thoughts on “Earring Tales: Desert Sunrise

  1. ooh that’s purty.
    The two corals – the medium looks rather cool compared to the light coral two rows over. i could wear one, I could see my Teen in the other and we do NOT wear the same warmths of red. the frame is a sky-ish color which may be a contributing factor for why it works.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That is breath taking. And the blue around it is the blue sky of a desert morning. This totally captures the spirit of the desert sky. I wish I could wear oranges! Huh, with the blue edging I might be able to pull it off…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The dark lining works because it calls to mind the dark edges of retreating stormclouds that the light of the sunset would be reflecting off of.

    Is nice work.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

