Post-NaNo Update: Fedoras

Yes. I actually managed to get in fedoras as important to the plot of Seeds of Blood. The bunnies may be unreasonably pleased with themselves.

…Maybe just a little. πŸ˜‰

A little over 2/3 of the way through this round of edits, currently. I think this round will do it. Then it’ll be format, get the blurb written, get the cover art, submit all to CreateSpace, and pray.

I’m still trying to figure out how the heck to go about marketing when I am lousy at talking to people. Not to mention having to fight just for writing time.Β There are a couple blogs that were willing to mention Net, I hope they’ll be interested in Seeds too. Aside from that… eep.

30 thoughts on “Post-NaNo Update: Fedoras

    1. I am inordinately pleased as well πŸ™‚ i have been hoping since the first books for fedoras. Ummm….any way you can have the gang with fedoras as the cover art? I mean yes it is probably a bit overkill but…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. If it helps any, word of mouth can sometimes be pretty successful, especially in sf/f groups.
    (Not that I’ve shamelessly been plugging my favorite books, including yours, to my friends or anything…)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have no site to proclaim the coming goodness from, but I can’t recommend Net enough to my friends and family. I’m pretty stoked about what I’ve heard about Leatherbound as well. “Blessings are chancy business… but you know where you stand with curses.” “Bless your enemies.”

    …. The idea behind Leatherbound puts a whole new meaning on bless them that curse you.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Uhm… You’ve got to realize that all these blog posts you are writing, the tid bits, the teasers, the info dumps, this is all marketing. Really. I’M BUYING THE BOOK = It works. Then I’m gonna tweet and probably blog a picture… and yeah. You’re marketing already (Not saying more isn’t also good, but this does count).
    PS – You’re an amazing writer, I’m so SO glad there are more books coming!

    Liked by 3 people

      1. It’s been a while since I watched that show, but I’m pretty sure that’s why I stopped… because they had him on a good redemption arc and then, like a dog returning to its vomit…

        Liked by 2 people

  4. You had -no idea- how hard it was to get your books. I searched the local libraries in three separate counties (because of an offhand comment on your blog about you going to talk to your local library about your books), and the nearest bookstores. Went to my grandparents for a few weeks and checked out the bookstores there. Zip. Zilch. Nada.

    So I went on Amazon and got my aunt to buy the duo for my b-day gift, which I didn’t want to do because shipping and handling and horror stories about mishandled orders. I couldn’t get the electronic version because the Kindle app hates me.

    Best. B-day gift. Ever.

    So, like with any good book, I gushed about it to anyone who seemed remotely interested. (And a few-ok, a lot- that weren’t). I guess I’m free-advertising?

    So, thank you for writing and publishing those books! Despite the trial to get it, or especially because of it, I love them and the characters and everything!

    Do you know how hard it is to find a book that my brain doesn’t go “Nooooooooo…….” and give me a migraine in retaliation at the thought of re-reading it? You wrote two novels that has my brain chanting “read it again!” Over and over and over…

    Thank you and I love you for writing the books! I’m rooting for your success for Seeds and Leatherbound, and any/all future books to come!

    (I’m going to try to buy a copy of every book you publish. That’s how good your writing is.)

    I wish I was a millionaire, then I could buy a bunch of copies and give them to my friends and everyone else so they know how good they are.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Awesome! Someone getting me books I wanted has always been on my list of Best Presents, too. πŸ™‚

      That is one fact of life with self-publishing on Amazon and CreateSpace: regular bookstores are just not likely to carry the print-on-demand books. Drat!

      And while I jumped through all the hoops in CreateSpace to get the LCCN, so libraries can request my books, that usually does take someone poking the library in question with a request. “Get this! I want to read it!”

      You have horror stories ordering off Amazon? Ouch. I’ve only had one or two orders go wrong. (I’m also a cheapskate who gets free shipping whenever possible, so I often end up waiting a while for my books.)

      I have an idea how hard it can be to find something you want to read, yep. *G* That’s why I ended up writing Net and Count Taka – I could not find what I wanted on the shelves! …Heck, I still can’t most of the time. I end up going to bookstores and coming home with manga instead.

      Aww. Thanks. πŸ™‚ Cover artist says I should have a preview by next week for Seeds. This cover art should feature Church!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yay! I’m definitely going to recommend your books to my library then.

        Could you tell your cover artists that they are really awesome? Because they are. I love the covers. So. Much.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

