Brief Pearl Update: Another Draft Bites the Dust

Got all the way through this current draft of Pearl of Fire. Not everything is fixed yet. There’s at least two spots where I need to add specific plot-related stuff; one of those should be a whole new scene. And I want to go through and add more background details, and make sure characterization gets polished some more.

Still, I did get a lot of things fixed. And I’ve scribbled on the draft enough that I needed a clean print with all the edits so I can go through and fix those last two spots in light of the text as it currently stands.

So I got that today. Hey, print discount coupon, I’ll take it….

I also use those to get color pics of certain things (and characters) for inspiration. Because visual aids really, really help getting action scenes right!

Editing estimate at this point: Need at least one more major edit run (in part to write those last two sticky bits) and one minor run to pick out any detail snarls caused by new stuff. Then we’ll see.

4 thoughts on “Brief Pearl Update: Another Draft Bites the Dust

    1. Thanks!

      I’ll spare you the grisly details on Murphy. Let’s just say I’ve got a serious ax to grind with the guy, and I am doing everything I can to never be in a situation like this again.

      Unfortunately, that is likely to take significant time to set up. As in several months. At least. Drat.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment