On Writing: Conan and Costumes

Okay, people. We need some cultural appropriation happening, and we need it right now.

I’m talking about that staple of many Asian shows cropping up on YouTube: the costume drama. There’s thousands of years of history and fashions on record, and they dive into it with varying degrees of historical accuracy and a great sense of pizazz.

So how does this translate into writing? Conan. Think of Conan the Barbarian, or Solomon Kane, or a whole host of Robert E. Howard’s other stories and characters. His stories ranged pulp from Westerns to boxing matches to serpent-men and the fall of Atlantis, and all of that drew on cultures – and costumes – distinctly out of step with modern fashion. And because they weren’t set “here and now”, he could write his characters as moral, or ruthless, or both, as the story demanded. Howard’s characters are written with sincerity.

(A Song of Joy has a great post on sincerity here.)

Sincerity makes or breaks your characters, and your story. Do your characters believe in something, anything, strongly enough to fight for it? Die for it? Kill for it?

We’re not talking about religion. (Though we might be.) We’re talking about the core of a person’s identity. Their line in the sand. What makes them who they are, and makes them real.

I will protect my family, and all those I love.

Evil must be stopped. No one is above the law.

I will be the best person I can be, and raise up those I meet along the way.

Truth, justice, and the American Way.

Sincere beliefs. The kind of beliefs that, if you put them in a modern setting, too many people sneer at for not being gritty and realistic enough. It’s all well and good to say just ignore the sneering, but….

Sometimes, as a writer, you can’t. You’re too tired. You’ve had too much of the evening news. You can’t see truth, beauty, and justice in the world around you; how can you write it there?

So don’t. Break out of modern reality, and all its grimdark moral compromises. Give your story a costume.

On top of that, the best costume dramas showcase three things. Wide sweeps of nature. The power and purpose of traditions. And of course, beautiful costumes.

Hollywood has done its worst to make a portrayal of reality as ugly, petty, and aimed at the lowest common denominator. If we’re going up against that to heal our culture, we need beauty.

Bring back the wonder. Bring back the morals. Bring back the reasons for traditions, honor, and integrity.

Bring out the costumes.

11 thoughts on “On Writing: Conan and Costumes

  1. :Cheers:

    Seen that meme?

    “It is the 1990s. I am ten years old, and watching a grittier, darker Batman.”
    “It is in the 2000s. I am twenty years old, and watching a grittier, darker Batman.”
    “it is the 2010s. I am thirty years old, and watching a grittier, darker Batman.”
    “It is the 2020s. I am forty years old, and watching a grittier, darker Batman….”

    Enough with the “grittier, darker” nonsense, gimme some grown ups! When I’m watching Batman Beyond because they can actually write ADULTS and TEENAGERS and CHILDREN rather than 30 year old children with the fixations of teenagers, there is something wrong with your writers!

    Liked by 5 people

    1. This is why the best Batman is from “Batman: Wayne Family Adventures”. Which is a slice-of-life that focuses on all the wacky family hijinks that occur when you live in a family that learns how the drive the Batmobile before getting an actual driving permit, got training from actual assassins, and has a dad who forgets to turn off his com line before flirting with his girlfriend on Gotham’s rooftops (Selina thought it was hilarious!).

      AKA: the one comic where Bruce managed to be a good dad and everyone manages to have healthy family dynamics while fighting crime. Good times all around for everyone.

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Meanwhile costume dramas like A Female Student at Imperial College, Chef Hua, Maiden Holmes, and My Heroic Husband write characters of all ages and motives, from the mundane (I just want to cook well) to the extreme (I will clear my clan’s name!) and it’s awesome.

      Plus, I have to admit, one of the interesting bits about historical dramas is the fact that Family is Important, and especially people get married to have children. Granted, these dramas usually have the couple going to lengths to only have kids when they think it’s the right time, but “I want grandkids!” is totally legit. Talk about cultural dissonance with what Hollywood usually brings out….

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I ADORE stories that take their foundations seriously! That’s the fun of scifi fantasy!

        MASSIVE DIGRESSION!
        I’m quite open to the “get married and have kids” angle. 😉 (Just had our seventh! … Quick scan over the “stuff” involved– I, and my husband, *are* open to talking about how and what we think. And we are both thinking. 😀 With how refreshing it has been to meet people who go “Oh, cool, I was X of <5!", I know that other writers may want to talk to someone. Fox underscore secondhalf of my 'nym at outlook.com, I'm Catholic but willing to spitball for other "must have kids Or Else" philosophies.)

        The death by emojis is because this is a delicate topic.
        Look, I wanna try to help folks who wanna research. I KNOW how hard it is to find someone who has a bunch of kids and will talk about it. I can even try to help you find slightly less procreation less positive folks. I want to help folks, because I had trouble doing research, too.

        Liked by 2 people

    1. Have to admit I’ve been on a “what can I find to watch for free on YouTube” kick, in part to avoid watching the news at dinnertime. I’ve hit my limit and more on RL craziness, and pretty costumes with actual interesting plots and characters acting like sane people is a balm to the soul.

      …Though if I can find subbed DVDs of certain series, I do hope to get them eventually. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Teen Titans in 2004, Robin (Tim Drake) to Batman during a Justice League vs the next generation fight, in which all the other adults are getting physically violent: “I know you can beat the hell out of me, Batman — but you won’t. You’d hate yourself for it.”

    2019: Batman punches him in the face for offering sympathy.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I think it’s really the mind-set behind the main character. I’ve read some really drpressing costume dramas… and then i’ve also read corporate business dramas with more sincerity and tension in them than most “thrillers”… So much of tone comes down to how well the author can sell that the characters *believe* in their own ideals.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment