Earring Tales: Treefrog

I got a new green, I had to play with it….

Treefrog1

I wanted to see if I could get a good countershading effect, as we often see on animals in nature. Assembling this collection of greens, I realized I could do that, with the willow green Duracoat beads standing in for the “line” on the side of a green treefrog (Hyla cinerea). Some treefrogs are this dark on top; others tend to be more yellow. Some years back I could regularly get a look at the pale underside of one treefrog that’d apparently decided that the kitchen window at night was a good place to hang out. Bugs coming to the lights, maybe.

Anyway. Maybe these will make it easy to be green? 😉

Treefrog earrings.

 

6 thoughts on “Earring Tales: Treefrog

  1. I really like the way the colors interact; they look like they… interlock somehow, the way you have the shades. Though the bottom green (white?) doesn’t look like it pops as much as the rest. Could be the way the light is throwing off it though?

    I really like these. I kind of wish I wore earrings more often.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment