Earring Tales: Lava and Gold

Okay, there are two big problems with making red earrings. The first being they end up being very tricky to photograph well. You don’t want to know how many times I tried before getting close to true color.

Lava4

The second problem being… well. I do my best to have hypoallergenic earwires, because I know too well what it’s like dealing with allergies. I use them for the same reason I use strictly glass or precious metal beads: sooner or later that earring is going to brush your skin, and then what?

Usually I use niobium earwires. It’s hypoallergenic, it doesn’t tarnish, and it’s relatively inexpensive. But none of the colors of niobium currently available really fit.

…Well, black might have been all right. But I wanted something brighter.

So. Gold-fill it had to be. A bit pricier, but hopefully a better match for the reds.

 

Lava Earrings.

5 thoughts on “Earring Tales: Lava and Gold

  1. I actually got a shiver of glee, those are so pretty. Utterly gorgeous! A black niobium would make these more of a purely lava set. Really, very, very pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pretty…
    Feels like lava wine. I don’t know why lava + wine = these earrings but they do. Maybe Sword Aariel has interesting drinking choices when the cub is being interesting?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment