Sand Traps, the Ecosystem Way

Have some RL sand traps.

I’m pretty sure these are ant lion pits. I haven’t gone digging to find out, don’t want to disturb the bugs.

You see them in very specific areas under the eaves; close enough in that they’re not dripped on, where it’s sandy with nothing growing there. They aren’t anywhere else.

Experimental tiny pic: Spanish needle seeds!

I think this one came out better, but it’s going to take more practice before I can consistently get foreground focus on small things.

Like a wood sorrel.

And a palm leaf, the angles looked interesting.

7 thoughts on “Sand Traps, the Ecosystem Way

  1. Oooh, so that is what wood sorrel looks like. Rather like heather, I’ve read about them as area descriptions and didn’t have a mental image to go with them. (thinking of heather because the Spotlight image on my desktop is using it. It’s like purple fog!)

    *********
    Yes, those look like ant lion pits to me, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not to be confused with the *other* real life sandtraps, which are part of carwash drainage systems designed to catch sand, dirt, oil and other filth from cars.

    Like

Leave a comment